Testimonials

diego

I wanted to tell you what a wonderful trip we had with Albania-Travelnet.

First I want to tell you how great Samir and Vasil were to us. Samir is an expert driver because he was very calm, drove extremely well and always took care of the van, even in very narrow streets and corners. In addition, Samir was always watching over us. I was so appreciative of Samir, he was always there watching over us, whether a guide was there or not. We felt very safe and well taken care of.

Vasil is so kind and knowledgeable. You can tell he reads a lot. He made our trips in the van go by very quickly because he is such a great conversationalist and knows about many things. He is also eager to learn. He is a great story and joke teller. We were all laughing a lot in the van and that made our little group very happy. Vasil also was always by my side. He was very attentive to me while I was overheating and as I was slow to go up and down stone streets and stairs. I will always appreciate his patience and joyful attitude toward everything. On our last day, Samir and Vasil went way out of their way to make the last day memorable and very happy.

The accommodations were excellent. Every single one hotel had lovely rooms, air conditioning, all amenities and a wonderful hot breakfast. We felt so fortunate to come back to the hotel from a day of touring to a beautiful and relaxing room.

We are so glad that we could travel in these countries with your company.

Sincerely,
Teresa and Steve
TX, USA

I was so glad that we toured Albania on your tour.
We had an absolutely wonderful time! I will forward your e-mail (copied below) to all of our family members that were on the tour so they can add their observations if they desire.
Our tour guide Vasil and driver Skender were just outstanding. (I suspect I did not get the correct spellings of their names–sorry!) Knowledgeable about Albania and the places we saw, and able to present it so it was interesting and not just a memorized recitation. Skender got us through some wild traffic and narrow roads with impressive driving. The tour was well planned, and used our 8 days efficiently while seeing so much of Albania. We were able to request additional stops or minor modifications to the itinerary with no problem, and Vasil frequently checked with us to see if the day’s itinerary was OK and if we wanted to spend more or less time at our stops.They were patient with us when we were slow, and amazingly helpful with our luggage.
I was so glad that we toured Albania on your tour. It is a beautiful country with lots to see and do. We could never have seen so much and driven so much on our own, even with one member of our party who spoke Albanian.
Michael and Andrew, USA
May 2017

10 day tour, October 2016, Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo, Montenegro.

We were met at the airport in Tirana with a huge smile by our driver/guide, this set the scene for a wonderful trip. We started as strangers and ended the trip as friends.

If anyone is contemplating a trip around Albania and its neighbouring countries, you need not look any further than Albania TravelNet.

We have done a lot of travel and its so refreshing to find such a professional outfit as this company.

We did all our trip planning online with them and they were so responsive, no email or question went unanswered, a lot of other companies could learn from them.

All communication with them was open and honest.

On the tour, our car was kept clean and was very comfortable and each day the windows were cleaned. We were amazed at the quality and diversity of the accommodation, all were centrally located, so no need for a car once checked in. We even stayed in some of the old towns, which was just excellent.

Our driver/guide was extremely knowledgable and shared a lot of information with us, but also knew how much detail to relay so as not to overload us as well. Because our driver/guide was with us most of the time, there was absolutely no issue with security or safety, we felt at ease the whole way.

Doing a tour with AlbaniaTravelNet is the only way to travel around these countries, they are open to suggestion and can tailor a trip around what you want to see and do, and will also offer excellent suggestions for you to consider as well.
Happy travels
Shane & Judy
Aka: Lost Aussies
November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and we have no hesitation in recommending Albania TravelNet
Our recent ten-day tour of Albania, organized through Albania Travelnet, was faultless. michael
During the tour we visited and stayed o/n in Tirana, Shkodra, Durres, Vlora, Saranda, Gjirokastra and Berat. Each town or city is unique in what it offers to the tourist. The road stops for coffee or meals in towns and villages along the way provided further interest to our tour. Many of the ancient sites and towns in Albania are Unesco World Heritage listed with Butrinti being outstanding.
The scenery in Albania whether coastal or mountains is breathtaking and comparable to many Mediterranean tourist sites. There are also many traditional accommodation hotels, wineries and an abundance of traditional foods, which one can savour in a relaxed atmosphere.
The people in Albania were warm and welcoming to us and we felt safe throughout our tour. In addition many in the hospitality industry speak up to five or six languages.
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and we have no hesitation in recommending AlbaniaTravelNet to any tourists contemplating a tour of Albania.
Michael and Peta, Australia
May 2016

They were extremely professional
isla
My friend and I visited Northern Albania and Kosovo through a private tour with Albania TravelNet March 2016 and would highly recommend them.
They were extremely professional and considerate – adapting the tour to what we were interested in from which we gained a great deal of knowledge. Every aspect of the tour ran smoothly and our knowledgeable tour guide Enea left us feeling in safe hands at all times.
All hotels, food and recommendations were great and we had a lot of fun during our travels with Albania TravelNet. We hope others can use them to discover a truly fascinating country!
Isla and Joel, UK
March 2016

My husband and I took the Albaniatravel.net tour of both Albania and Macedonia in October of 2015, It was great!
Enea was a wonderful guide! His knowledge was vast and he tied in additional information of parallel events in history of other countries. You could tell he was proud of his country and wanted to share his love for it, with us. He spent long hours with our group, taking care of any problems that arose. Enea paced the sightseeing well and included hotels that were not “cookie cutter”, but rather featured traditional decor touches in the rooms. An added bonus was our driver, Gazzi . He spoke English and was very well read. Gazzi was able to add many interesting tidbits to enhance our experiences.
Ronnie and Herbert, USA
October 2015

Our 2 weeks trips has gone as a day.
review
I just got back from 4 Balkans, Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo, Montenegro trip for 15 days with Albania Net Travel. ( from Oct.9 ~ 23, 2015 )
We had a unforgettable travel with Enea, Saimir and Jetmir and happy moment all the time. Our 2 weeks trips has gone as a day. They are very concerned about the customers and treat us like a princess everyday. We already miss them so much.
I highly recommend Albania TravelNet Co. to who wants to go Albania.
Soon W. USA
October 2015

I would highly recommend Albania TravelNet.
We were a group of 3 couples travelling in and around Albania in September 2015. Albania TravelNet helped us plan our trip, booked our hotels, and provided a car, driver, and guides at historic sites. Enea was very professional and responsive from the beginning. Our itinerary and plans changed a few times, including at the last minute, and he was always accommodating and patient during the process. Our driver Saimir was also fantastic – he was there when we needed him, courteous, friendly, professional, and responsible. We had a very positive experience with Albania TravelNet from beginning to end, and would highly recommend this company to anyone planning a small-group tour in Albania.
Teri Halifax, Canada
September 2015

I don’t think it’s possible that there’s anyone else out there who could do a better job.
These guys at Albania TravelNet tours are a first class operation. I would give them a 10/10 for professionalism, service, knowledge, expertise, and follow up after the sale. My family just finished a two week tour of the highlights of Albania, Macedonia, Kosova and Montenegro. We are traveling with a family of four and everything was handled perfectly for us.
Our driver, Saimir, was perfect. He navigated everything for us in getting through these countries, handling language issues, crossing borders, knowledge of roads, getting us to all of the major sites, loading/unloading luggage at each point, and dealing with all of the minutia for us.
The service provided by TravelNet was certainly worth it and I would never consider doing this trip any other way. This made us just sit back and enjoy the ride and the countries without any of the headaches. The itinerary was carefully planned up-front, with everything double and even triple-checked, and once we started, everything went according as planned like clockwork. There were really no issues we ran into that weren’t considered up-front.
The trip was thoroughly enjoyable and we were able to focus on what was important and leave the details to TravelNet. If you are considering touring these countries, and would like a service of a company with a driver, I would not think twice about using anyone else. I don’t think it’s possible that there’s anyone else out there who could do a better job.
Bob and Helen, USA
August 2015

The only thing we wish we could do is staying longer.
Why traveling to Albania and why going with Albania TravelNet? It started with an old movie song.
I wanted to visit Albania ever since a high school class reunion. We talked about old movies we watched in early 70s, and sang songs from those movies. Among them, an Albania movie about young students joining local anti Nazi force fighting for freedom, was our favor. [During the Cultural Revolution, movies available in China were all from socialist countries: Albania, Romania, North Korea, former Soviet Union, and former Yugoslavia…]
Grew up in 60s/70s China, we were told Albania is a “bright socialist lighthouse in Europe”. Decades passed, China has gone through unrecognizable changes in many ways, and I wonder what Albania looks like, and how its people live their life today.
Except for the basic geographic knowledge that Albania is an European country, I know almost nothing about the country. And we only have a short week between work and other travel plans. Again I came to the TripAdvisor community and here I found the Albania TravelNet. After reading a number of reviews, I knew Enea’s agency is exactly what we need for planning and guiding the trip.
We could not be happier with the experience of working and traveling with Enea and Saimir (our driver and guider for most of the trip). From the first email on, the entire planning and traveling was as smooth and stress-free as it could be.
Enea and Saimir made our visit as interesting, informative, joyful and relaxing as it could be, in a very short week. They not only showed us the glorious ancient ruins, charming old towns made out of stones, gorgeous lakes and cold springs, and of course the “bunkers”, they also shared real stories and experiences that are beyond ordinary travel itineraries. Enea even arranged a special visit to the Ministry of Culture (where the 60s/70s movies were made). What a treat! This was such an unforgettable moment for me. And Saimir took us to an abandoned textile factory that was called “Mao Ze Dong Textile Factory”, another relic of the old time. Not to mention, all the “roadside” lunch places were all unique and food was consistently tasty and FRESH!
We simply felt we were visiting a new country with our old friends!
The only thing we wish we could do is staying longer, getting know more about this country and this part of the world, which has been so little known by most people, even world travelers.
We will go back.
Leying & Scott, China,
August 2015

The whole tour was stress free, very enjoyable without any problems.
My wife and me spent one week in June 2015 in Albania (Tirana and south Albania). We took a private tour with Albania TravelNet. We were happy that we did so. It was perfectly organised by Enea, the tour itself, the hotels, the local guides and in particular the German speaking driver Skender. The whole tour was stress free, very enjoyable without any problems. I can recommend Albania TravelNet to everybody.
Hussein and Ann, Austria
June 2015

It all came off without a hitch! 
We just completed a 13 day tour of Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo, and Montenegro with Albania TravelNet. We were very pleased. In our case, we requested a car and driver, with itinerary and hotels, but not a separate tour guide. Our driver, Saimir, was both driver and guide, and he did a great job – he took us to all the sites, but didn’t give us the historical background, dates, etc. That was fine with me. He was interesting to talk to and has a great sense of humor. He also always knew where there was a cold spring alongside the road with fresh water!
The Albania TravelNet tour was just a portion of our trip. We wanted to visit the countries mentioned above, plus Croatia, Slovenia, and Bosnia in a 31 day trip. We had plenty of information (e.g. Rick Steve’s guide) for the these northern countries, but little information about the southern countries. And, we were a little nervous about driving there. So Enea (Albania TravelNet owner) worked with me. I planned out a detailed itinerary and selected hotels for the 3 northern countries, and he did so for the 4 southern ones.
We left on May 1st and flew into Tirana. Saimir drove us for 11 days as we visited Tirana, Kruja, Berat, Vlore, Saranda, Gjirokastra, Korca, Ohrid, Skopje, Prishtina, Shkodra, and Kotor, with nearby sites. We then took a shuttle to Dubrovnik, rented a car, and drove ourselves on our own itinerary for 16 days in the northern countries, and then took a shuttle back to Kotor. Albania TravelNet then picked us up again in Kotor, and we spent another 2 days sightseeing along the coast, including Budva, before our flight home from Tirana.
Enea was very patient with me as we developed this complicated itinerary. It all came off without a hitch!
I thought that there was a lot of variety in our Albania TravelNet portion of the trip. We saw quaint historic old towns, interesting and pretty archaeological sites, resorts and fantastic beaches, museums and galleries, scenic areas with beautiful lakes and mountains and springs, several different cultural areas with different religions, great food, and impressive monuments and cities. We most appreciated that there were virtually no tourist crowds at any of the sites we visited on this tour.
Also, Enea arranged some hotels that we though were fantastic – historical/authentic sites. In Gjirokaster, we visited the Ethnographic museum just before we checked into our hotel When we stepped into our (modernized) 200-year-old hotel room, except for the modern bed and appliances, it looked just like the museum room – filled with antiques!
We thought that the Albania TravelNet tour was a great value – we’d give it a 9 of 10.
Richard USA
June 2015

We got what we paid for… a fantastic, tailor-made holiday…
My husband and I went on a 12 day tour with Albania TravelNet in May/June 2015 and can heartily recommend the company!
chris We’d never been to Albania before but knew we wanted a combination of archaeology, history, culture, food and drink and went for a tour of Tirana, Kruja, Shkodra, Berat, Gjirokastra and the Albanian Riviera. We had some great advice on what to see and do in planning our itinerary and were able to tweak a couple of things to make the most of our time there.
We had a very experienced and informative guide/driver who gave us insights into the country that we would have never got travelling on our own. And frankly it was a huge plus having someone to drive us, we always felt safe and I’m not sure that my nerves would have coped if I’d had to drive, as Albanian roads take a bit of getting used to!
Highlights for me included the hotels/guest houses in Tirana, Berat and Gjirokastra, as well as our visits to Apollonia, Ali Pasha’s fortress, Himara and the Mesi Bridge, though there is nothing I would have taken out of the tour. Personally I loved the food, I’m a big fan of meze!
The itinerary was well-paced with plenty to see and do, but not rushed and with convenient stops along the way. I had wondered how things would be with a guide/driver with us for the whole time but we had a really good balance of doing things together and alone time.
The tours are not cheap, but I genuinely believe that we got what we paid for… a fantastic, tailor-made holiday with an expert who really knew his stuff and top-notch accommodation in some amazing places that we’d never have found on our own!
Chris and Christopher, UK
June 2015

We thought that the tour was a great value – I’d give it a 9 of 10.
We just completed a 13 day tour of Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo, and Montenegro with Albania TravelNet. We were very pleased. In our case, we requested a car and driver, with itinerary and hotels, but not a separate tour guide. Our driver, Saimir, was both driver and guide, and he did a great job – he took us to all the sites, but didn’t give us the historical background, dates, etc. That was fine with me. He was interesting to talk to and has a great sense of humor. He also always knew where there was a cold spring alongside the road with fresh water!
The Albania TravelNet tour was just a portion of our trip. We wanted to visit the countries mentioned above, plus Croatia, Slovenia, and Bosnia in a 31 day trip. We had plenty of information (e.g. Rick Steve’s guide) for the these northern countries, but little information about the southern countries. And, we were a little nervous about driving there. So Enea (Albania TravelNet owner) worked with me. I planned out a detailed itinerary and selected hotels for the 3 northern countries, and he did so for the 4 southern ones.
We left on May 1st and flew into Tirana. Saimir drove us for 11 days as we visited Tirana, Kruja, Berat, Vlore, Saranda, Gjirokastra, Korca, Ohrid, Skopje, Prishtina, Shkodra, and Kotor, with nearby sites. We then took a shuttle to Dubrovnik, rented a car, and drove ourselves on our own itinerary for 16 days in the northern countries, and then took a shuttle back to Kotor. Albania TravelNet then picked us up again in Kotor, and we spent another 2 days sightseeing along the coast, including Budva, before our flight home from Tirana.
Enea was very patient with me as we developed this complicated itinerary.
It all came off without a hitch!
I thought that there was a lot of variety in our Albania TravelNet portion of the trip. We saw quaint historic old towns, interesting and pretty archaeological sites, resorts and fantastic beaches, museums and galleries, scenic areas with beautiful lakes and mountains and springs, several different cultural areas with different religions, great food, and impressive monuments and cities. We most appreciated that there were virtually no tourist crowds at any of the sites we visited on this tour.
Also, Enea arranged some hotels that we though were fantastic – historical/authentic sites. In Gjirokaster, we visited the Ethnographic museum just before we checked into our hotel When we stepped into our (modernized) 200-year-old hotel room, except for the modern bed and appliances, it looked just like the museum room – filled with antiques!
We thought that the Albania TravelNet tour was a great value – we’d give it a 9 of 10.
Richard & Diana, USA
May 2015

I highly recommend Albania TravelNet for an excellent vacation in this too-often ignored part of the world.
john You will not regret a tour with Albania TravelNet. Our guide Enea is thorough, careful, and amazingly knowledgeable about this fascinating and beautiful part of the world. You will be well entertained and fed, and will learn so much about the Illyrians, Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Christians (Roman and Orthodox), Venetians, Turks (Ottomans), Muslims (Sunni and Shia), dictatorships, communism and democracies. Fantastic.
We visited Albania, Kosovo and Macedonia. All of our hotels were clean and comfortable. All of our meals were delicious, and all of the people we met were genuine and helpful.
I highly recommend Albania TravelNet for an excellent vacation in this too-often ignored part of the world.
Pati and John, Toronto Canada
May 2015

No exceptions – Albania TravelNet is great!
jane
My wife and I just had a wonderful 16 day Albania/Macedonia tour with Albania TravelNet. Planned well, good hotels, exceptional food and our main guide Enea amounted to an exceptional experience we highly recommend. This lesser known part of the world is a great region to be seen and Albania TravelNet delivered flawlessly for us. No exceptions – Albania TravelNet is great.
Jane and Roger, Canada
April 2015

We have just returned from a safe, informative and entertaining 11 day tour of Albania.
leigh
We have just returned from a safe, informative and entertaining 11 day tour of Albania, accompanied by Enea. He planned the trip according to our requests. If you are interested in history, ethnic conflict, religion, archaeology, politics and good food, he is your man. All of the hotels, B&Bs and restaurants he recommended were excellent choices. His spoken English is spot on and, if you are really lucky,he might take you to the home of what seem to be the several hundred cousins he has throughout the country.
Harvey and Diana, UK
April 2015

We had a wonderful experience with AlbaniaTravelNet.
We were totally unsure of what to expect, but after 8 days with Enea we had a real appreciation of the country’s history, culture, peoples and topography.aust
Enea proved to be not only a treasure trove of facts but also a very personable companion, focused at all times not only on ensuring we were exposed to all aspects of the country but also on ensuring that we understood the how, the when and the why of what we were seeing. Once we told Enea that we ate most things, he ensured that we were introduced to the many delights of the local cuisine. We enjoyed many culinary delights but found ourselves politely but firmly refusing a second helping of stuffed sheep spleen.
While our schedule was highly organized, Enea was also adept at modifying it in the face of disruptions such as the Pope’s visit to Albania and to bad weather in the south west, both of which caused road closures.
Enea’s personable approach meant that we learned a great deal about the country but also about the life of its people (or various peoples, as we became more and more aware of the different ethnic groupings and their origins). A stand-out memory is of the “selfie” that Enea managed to take with the Pope on that first day in Tirana.
We came away with both an understanding and an affection for the country, due entirely to Enea’s hospitality, guidance and companionable introduction to Albania. We can’t recommend him highly enough for small group tours of this fascinating country which offers so much but which, it seems, still remains a well-kept secret.
Leigh & Jenny, Australia 
2014

Wow What an AAAmazing experience with Albania TravelNet tours!!!diego
Wow What an AAAmazing experience with Albania TravelNet tours!!! We have used their services for TWO consecutive years and they are an incredible tour company, highly recommended. Enea (owner and guide) has showed us from the Albanian Alps in Thethi to the beautiful beaches of Sarande and Dhermi.
We have discovered not only an amazing country full of culture and amazing gastronomy, but also good friends that will be glad to re-visit in the near future!!! Highly recommended to anyone traveling to Albania!! just relax, take your camera, eyes wide open for the perfect picture-shots, and let them take care of an experience you will never forget!! 😉
Diego M, NY USA
August 2014

We had a great trip and were so happy to have visited Albania. nederlands
Me and my wife have just visited Albania for 5 days. We were lucky to have found Albania Travelnet. Enea was great and a real professional. His planning and scheduling were spot on. He always replied to our emails within one day
His advice was very good and well adjusted to our personal wishes. Their rates are very good for the service provided. During the trip we had Enea as our driver and guide and his knowledge was superb, his English excellent, his driving very safe, the car very comfortable and his humor very nice. Very recommended. We had a great trip and were so happy to have visited Albania. A wonderful undiscovered destination.
Angela and David, The Netherlands
October 2014

The tour was flawlessly organized.canada
We spent 5 days exploring central and southern Albania with Enea, principal of Albania Travelnet in late October 2014. The tour was flawlessly organized and offered an absorbing study of the country’s complex cultural and political history. Intelligent and well-read with an excellent command of English, Enea not only imparted his vast and exhaustive knowledge of historical facts but also shared his interpretations and opinions of past events and their connection to the present-day narrative. We entrusted Enea with selecting the restaurants and ordering our food and were delighted with all of his decisions. As it happens, Albania is an epicurean paradise (who knew?) offering a diverse assortment of fresh meat, seafood, pasta and vegetarian dishes the true standouts were lamb, young goat and in the coastal areas, mollusks (particularly mussels and octopus). Lodgings everywhere were clean and for the most part very good, with our clear favourite being the enchanting Bujtina Kodiket B&B in Berat. Until we began our journey, we knew very little about the country and we’d like to thank Enea for enlightening us with his spirited lessons in Albanian history and social studies and showcasing the country’s splendid beauty.
Pauline and John, Canada
October 2014

One of the best tours we have ever had in our extensive years of traveling.
After many months of detailed email exchanges with Enea (Albania Travelnet), we finally made it to Tirana where he warmly greeted us. As many have written, Enea is a very special tour guide. Immediately we recognized here was a man who was intelligent, loved his job and was dedicated to teaching and showing us Albania. At times I felt I was back in college touring with my history professor. At the same time everything he explained made history come alive and the information was pertinent to our travels.
His delightful demeanor and flexibility was an asset to making our tour one of the best we have ever had in our extensive years of traveling. As a compulsive planner and researcher, I tested him many times and he continually amazed me. He quickly assessed how we like to pace our travel and easily accommodated us. We enjoyed sharing meals, life stories and laughter with him as we traversed the country. We appreciated his introducing us to the exceptional Albanian cuisine as well as finding the best pizza in each town.
As others have written, his driving is exceptionally safe and he truly finds the cleanest restrooms in the country. Both are no small feats in our estimation.
Thank you Enea for a trip of a lifetime.
Arlene and Alan, USA
October 2014

Arrange your Albanian holiday before the masses discover it and arrange your tour with the excellent Albania TravelNet.johnn
I travelled with Albania TravelNet in October 2014 and I would recommend that you travel with them and you will be completely satisfied as I was with my Albanian tour. Enea Kumi the manager, is professional, friendly, efficient, honest and knowledgeable and he speaks excellent English. Really travelling with him, was like travelling with a friend and the hotels he chose were very clean and comfortable. I have no complaints at all about the tour, Back in Australian now, I have been urging friends to go to Albania and travel with him. I could not recommend him more highly. He has an excellent knowledge of Albanian History extending back to Ancient Greek and Roman times, the Geography and fauna of Albania and he discusses politics without taking sides. He is also a good conversationalist.
If you are a little hesitant about going to Albania, don’t be. The scenery is beautiful and the Albanian people are very friendly and polite and welcome tourists. They are honest, helpful, considerate and well dressed and you can walk around for example, in the capital Tirana, quite safely as I did and no one bothers you. Quite a few people speak English and some speak Italian, but even those who do not, really do their best to help you and make you feel welcome.
So arrange your Albanian holiday before the masses discover it and arrange your tour with the excellent Albania TravelNet.
John Davenport, Australia
October 2014

It was the best tour I have ever taken and easily one of my best all-time trips. 
I’d like to add my voice to the chorus of appreciation for Enea and Albania Travelnet. I took the Grand Tour of Albania and my only regret is not signing up for one of the longer tours the company offered. It was the best tour I have ever taken and easily one of my best all-time trips. I loved everything from the lovely boutique hotels and restaurants Enea chose to the way he paced the trip. He was extremely organized and very adaptable to any and everything that came up on the way. I have noted that others have mentioned how great a driver Enea is in addition to his tour guiding skills. I cannot stress enough how important it is to make sure your driver is excellent, as you sometimes have to navigate some crazy roads (and drivers) in order to reach some of the (incredible) sites. Enea was terrific at this. He was also terrific at imparting an incredible amount of historical and cultural knowledge on a wide range of topics in an extremely engaging manner. Most of all, he was unbelievably kind and made every effort to create a friendly, family-type atmosphere for our tour group, which made it all the more enjoyable. I’m already looking at my schedule for next year to see if I can get in on his company’s Western Balkans tour.
Afua and Ann, USA
September 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Albania and Albania TravelNet. tod
I wanted to plan a trip for my 50th birthday and I started many months before. I wrote to Albania TravelNet because I had used them the year before and they are very professional and very knowledgeable and answered all of my email questions promptly. Enea helped me to plan a tour that would allow me to see something new, since it was my third time visiting Albania, and for my two friends who were coming for the first time, he included some classic sites that should not be missed. He made the tour exciting for all of us. When we arrived in Albania, Enea ended up being our guide and he took such good care of us. All four of us agree that it was simply a perfect experience and not only was Enea an amazing guide, we now consider him to be a close friend. I cannot say enough good things about Albania and Albania TravelNet. I would recommend both to anyone who has an interest in travel. Albania has so much to offer. Natural beauty beyond belief, historical sites, UNESCO sites, amazing food and drink. And above all, the people in Albania are very warm and friendly. We cannot wait to come back and we will continue to return for many years. There is still so much to see and do in Albania that I have not yet discovered and with the help of Albania TravelNet, it is all possible. We cannot thank them and Enea enough.
Todd Weakley USA
August 2014

You are by far the best travel guide I have had in my 44 years of travel.
We want to thank you again for showing us your beautiful country. You are by far the best travel guide I have had in my 44 years of travel. Because of you we will have fond memories that will last the rest of our lives.
May the Lord Bless you and your family.
Regards Joan & Ron USA
July 2014

If you are considering a tour of Albania you are in excellent hands with Albania TravelNet.leigh-1
We have just done a 9 day tour of Albania with Albania TravelNet and we cant recommend them highly enough. Enea the Tour Manager was wonderful – extremely helpful and knowledgeable, the itinerary was excellent giving us an insight into the culture and history of this beautiful country, and we loved the choice of accommodation that Enea made. On the tour we had Kelly as our driver and Bona as our guide, both exceptionally good at their jobs, and great to travel with.
If you are considering a tour of Albania you are in excellent hands with Albania TravelNet.
Norma and Terry Australia
June 2014

I can’t recommend Albania TravelNet enough. guest4
My husband and I traveled to Albania for a 10 day trip on May 2014. I contacted Albania TravelNet in January to get ideas of pricing and itinerary. Enea responded promptly and professionally. He gave a few suggestions, listened to my ideas, and we (but really him) created a great final itinerary. He booked all of the hotels, which were all good to excellent, and confirmed them for us. When we arrived in Tirana, he was there waiting for us with an air conditioned, comfortable van. My husband and I had a fabulous time traveling throughout much of Albania with him. He was VERY informative, was friendly, had a good sense of humor, and spoke great English. His recommendations were spot on each time (he even goes so far as to suggest certain places for bathroom breaks because he knows the restrooms are cleaner). Some meals he ate with us and helped us order the best items, others he did not but recommended where we should go. We really enjoyed conversing with him, learning from him, and getting to know him. He is a hard worker and truly showed he cared about his clients. Outside of Albania Travelnet, I also recommend traveling to Albania. The culture is complex, the scenery is beautiful, the history is rich, and the ruins are spectacular. I never felt unsafe. As a female, I do feel I should mention that Albania does have a more male dominated society. It is by no means extreme, but if you are traveling with a male companion, he will be sat first, served first, waited on first and addressed first whether at restaurants, hotels, or visitor locations. At two restaurants I did not even receive a menu. It is important to recognize this is their culture and while I wouldn’t like it if I were back home, it was kind of nice to have my husband do most of the talking for a change ;). If you’re considering traveling to Albania, contact Enea, tell him what you want and I’m sure he’ll find a way at a reasonable price for you.
Reagan from Seattle, USA.
May 2014

The most complete and educated tour services we have ever experienced.
My wife made an earlier review but I felt that the quality of services was worth reaffirming. Enea/Albania TravelNet provided what we both believe were the most complete and educated tour services we have ever experienced. We have much to compare it with as experienced travelers with many years using guides for private tours in remote locations. We found Enea promptly responsive to inquiries during the planning stage of our trip with good delivery of services during our stay. The vehicle we traveled in was in good repair and comfortable. Further, Enea is a careful driver, a trait whose value should not be underestimated. In all, service we were very pleased with. Finally, Enea is a pleasant travel companion.
Dean in Park City, Utah USA.
May 2014

The tour and Enea were wonderful.
DSC01236-1
A friend and I went with Albania Travelnet on the May 1 Western Balkans 11 day tour which included Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo and Montenegro. All the good reviews are correct. The tour and Enea were wonderful. He is well informed, a great driver, great personality, and so knowledgeable of the history and area. All the hotels he chose were very good to excellent. Definitely a great way to travel!
Ann from California USA
May 2014

I can say it was wonderful.
utah
We spent 11 days with Albania TravelNet and I can say it was wonderful. We spent several months writing on email and planning our trip. Enea is the best guide we have ever had in 30 years of travel and almost 100 countries. This is a person who loves his job and history. He also gave us insights into how history has shaped current culture. He has set a very high bar for any future guides we may hire. Also he is a very careful and safe driver.
Ginny in Park City, Utah
May 2014

We cannot recommend it highly enough.fff (1)

Like Jack and Anne Dini (Returning to the Homeland: Albania,  Oct. ’13, pg. 52), my companion and I also followed the advice of Carol Probst (Albania Enjoying Europe Without the Costs and Crowds, Dec. ’12, pg. 36) and took a tour with Albania Travel Net (Him Kolli str. 35, Pallati Agolli, Tirane 1003, Albania; phone +355 42247518) and guide Enea Kumi.
We toured Albania, Macedonia and Montenegro, Sept. 28-Oct. 8, 2013, and found Enea’s services to be excellent. Since that information has already been discussed, I thought ITN readers might like to know what they’re likely to find in these countries.
First, you will find you are not alone anymore. We regularly saw Asian tour groups and a variety of European tour groups at the more popular sites. In Ohrid, Macedonia, we discovered menus in Dutch. It turns out that regular charter flights run from Amsterdam directly to Ohrid between May and October.
In Montenegro, which uses the euro even though it is not an EU member, Russians are very busy buying apartments and villas by the sea. Billboards in Russian are everywhere in Kotor and along the coast. As a result of this increasing tourism, prices are rising, although they’re not near Western European levels yet. Local beers are still cheap, $2-$3, but house wines can prove to be surprisingly expensive, at $7-$8.
In Ohrid, a simple evening meal of two chicken in a bowl dinners along with two glasses of house wine and a local beer cost $27. No appetizers or dessert. An excellent meal but no bargain!
Although the hotels we stayed in were uniformly good, and most were charming, family-owned operations, the quality of breakfasts could vary. Bread was plentiful and usually excellent, but toast was difficult to find and sandwiches were nonexistent. In some cases, the hotels prepared all the fried eggs in advance, resulting in cold eggs for breakfast.Byrek (stuffed pastry) was also served cold.
Fruit was plentiful and fresh and served with all meals. Pure orange juice did not seem to exist, but blended juices were good.
In no room did we find tissues, although almost all had hair dryers. Bathroom facilities were modern, but most showers were designed without doors.
Particularly when traveling away from bigger cities, facilities could get more primitive; a couple of packets of toilet paper in the purse could come in handy.
The ability to do stairs was critical. Towns, monuments, fortresses and hotels almost always involved stairs. Only two of our hotels had elevators. A charming hotel in Kotor’s Old Town had us on the third floor. My companion refused to do them more than twice a day; she’d walk down once in the morning and up once in the evening.
Travel times were deceptive. Coastal roads very curvy and up and down over hills were time-consuming, and the limited number of good roads necessitated frequent backtracking to go in other directions. The maps make the drives look easy. Don’t you believe it! To avoid getting bogged down in endless driving, it’s better to scale back on how much to see.
Safety was never a concern, even after dark and in the big cities. Common precautions apply, of course, but we never felt uncomfortable, even when walking back alleys after dark.
The Tirana airport was modern and efficient.
Despite these minor drawbacks and cautions, we had a great trip traveling through beautiful country with an excellent guide.
NYCK WIJBRANDUS
East Petersburg, PA

Returning to the homeland: Albania!
Article published in ITN magazine, on October 2013 issue.
Written by Jack Dini, Livermore, CA, USA.
dini_albania305
My father emigrated from Albania 100 years ago and, although my family kept no ties to the homeland, my wife, Anne, and I had been thinking about going there for years. After reading Carol Probst’s article Albania Enjoying Europe Without the Cost and Crowds (Dec. ’12, pg. 36), we got in touch with the guide she recommended, Enea Kumi.
Enea, from Albania TravelNet was easy to communicate with and offered us a variety of options. His tour price was considerably less than those of other companies.
At a land price of $2,070 for both of us, we chose an 8-day tour, May 24-31, 2013, with two of the days in Macedonia. Seven nights in a 3-star hotel and breakfasts were included, but any museum and site fees (minimal) were additional.
Major cities we visited included Tirana, Berat, Sarandë, Korçë, Durrës and, in Macedonia, Ohrid. Our favorites were Berat and Ohrid.
Albania wasn’t what we expected. It is quite modern and has some of the most beautiful scenery we’ve seen anywhere. The people were quite friendly. One can even drink the local tap water; we never opened bottled water the entire trip.
On the negative side, the roads outside of the major cities were chock-full of potholes, making driving a real challenge.
We saw many 2-man police patrols on the roads checking drivers for their registration, the condition of their vehicles, etc. We were never stopped, and we think it was because I was in the front passenger seat wearing my baseball cap and sunglasses, which said, loud and clear, American tourist. Berat, in south-central Albania, has a wealth of beautiful buildings, pine forests surrounding the city, towering snow-covered mountains on both sides and a 3,000-foot-deep gorge cut by the Osumi River. The river divides the city into three parts:an Orthodox section, a Muslim section and the larger part of the city which is newer and mixed.
We’d read about the concrete bunkers that supposedly line the hillsides of Albania. Built for military purposes, it’s been claimed that during the 40-year rule of Enver Hoxha, more than 700,000 bunkers were built. We covered over 600 kilometers on our visit and did not see more than 100 bunkers. Enea said many have been destroyed and
that Hoxha had used an inflated figure to impress potential invaders. The bunkers that are left provide some character to the landscape and are an important historical landmark. We hope they are kept for future generations (and tourists).
We spent two days in Ohrid, Macedonia, beside Lake Ohrid, which lies between both countries. Notable for once having had 365 churches, the city is rich in picturesque houses and monuments. Although we’d been exposed to icons before, we learned more than ever about them on an in-depth tour of St. Mary’s church in Ohrid, which has an art gallery displaying 43 of the most beautiful, expensive and unique icons in the country. Something else notable in Ohrid were small galleries (workshops) displaying art crafts. We visited facilities where folks made copper products, woodcarvings and paper.
Our tour ended in Durrës, Albania. We hadn’t had to use umbrellas the whole trip, but after visiting the amphitheater, we strolled the city on our own and got caught in a heavy downpour. We found a place to stand under cover and eventually realized it was a café, so inside we went and ordered a coke and tea. Before we were ready to leave, a young man came by and paid for our drinks. We tried to pay, but he would have none of it.
What hospitality!
Jack Dini
Livermore, CA

Article published in International Travel News magazine, October 2013 issue.
My heart is warmed and filled by the incredible memories that remain fresh in my mind from our recent trip with you.
Why am I surprized – your prompt and consistent replies to my many enquiries prior to the trip should have clearly indicated to me the level of attention that we would receive upon our arrival to Albania, but one never knows. I could not have imagined that our organizer would be as knowledgable and sensitive as you were to us and to our interests and needs.
We came to Albania to discover and I must say that the trip was an absolute success – we found a beautiful landscape enveloped with a history and cultures far beyond what our imaginations could provide. We met with a people whose hospitality has no limits, each meal exposed us to a different cuisine and each area to an entirely different terrain.
Your choices in accomodations perfectly coincided with our personal tastes and for that I am grateful.
In short this trip was indeed our “Balkan appetizer” and I cannot wait to return.
Helen and Eyton,
Israel, October 2013

All in all, a great trip and we would highly recommend Albania Travelnet!
We just completed a tour of Albania, Montenegro and Macedonia with Albania Travel Net from Sept 28 to Oct 8. Our initial inquiry received an immediate response as we did throughout the preparations.
We were met at the airport, taken care of throughout the trip, and delivered safely back. Enea is a very safe and conservative driver who stays perfectly calm in the sometimes hectic conditions. Hotels were good to excellent, food and drink was perfectly safe, and the tours enlightning and personalized. Caution: travel light and be prepared for stairs. Rooms can be three stories up and no elevators. Although tourism is developing it is not yet at western European standards so there are occasional surprises like cold eggs for breakfast because they were fried earlier. Although there is fruit everywhere you will not find fresh orange juice for breakfast or tissues in the room. Road conditions vary widely and travel takes much longer than one might anticipate. All in all, a great trip and we would highly recommend ATN.
Nickey and Joane, USA
October 2013

No words to explain beauty of the country.
bunker-guide
We traveled with Albania Travel Net last week of September around southern Albania. No words to explain beauty of the country. Enea made all effort to show us as much as possible. He introduced us to history of Albania, culture and very good food. Hotels – very good. Driving very responsible and safe. Very important: they are working with you to make the trip fitting your interest, time and budget. Always best.
Piotr and Cristina, USA
September 2013

Thanks for a good trip….I definitely enjoyed it!
The trip was everything I thought it would be. Our guide Eni was informative & knowledgeable and handled herself well in sometimes difficult situations with one of the travelers. I particularly liked the personal stories she told in sharing the recent history of Albania. Keli was a good driver–always felt secure & safe–and very considerate in helping one of our travelers with mobility problems. This was beyond what a driver usually does on a tour.
Our accommodations were clean, well located and secure…& the included breakfasts were yummy. The itinerary worked well and I feel like I got a good sense of Albanian history and saw the countryside.
Thanks for a good trip….I definitely enjoyed it!
Best regards,
Fay Geege, USA
September 2013

We have only good to say about the whole arrangement.
We have only good to say about the whole arrangement. We had excellent company in Eni who taught us a lot about Albania now and past, we saw a lot of nice sceneries both through car windows and when hiking in Thethi and from there to Valbone, we felt very safe by Saimir and Keli´s driving, we ate to much well tasting food, we slept well in nice hotel rooms . We could not wish for much more – falmenederit you for your services!
Best regards,
Torhild and Ulf, Norway
August 2013

There were no doubts we saw as much of Albania as was possible in 8 days , a fascinating country with a complicated history all fully explained by our guide…saker
A Comprehensive Tour of Albania visiting all Points of Albania from Shkodra in the north to Durres in the east to Sarandein the south to Pogradec in the west.
We had doubts when initially booking but found that replies came back quickly from Enea and it was reassuring and we were glad that it enabled a superb holiday.
There were no doubts we saw as much of Albania as was possible in 8 days , a fascinating country with a complicated history all fully explained by our guide Enea, beautiful rugged scenery and many historic sites all fully explained by Enea. All hotels very clean and well appointed serving excellent food including breakfasts that were all superb. Some traditional hotels such as in Gjirokaster were outstanding for the views and positioning within the historic areas.
We were driven by Enea in a comfortable air conditioned vehicle around Albania from city to city stopping on route to see many historic sites, churches, mosques, forts, his driving was excellent.
We have visited 50 countries over the last 25 years . but we can say this was the most comprehensive and interesting tour we have had, there is no question that we would recommend Albania Travelnet to anyone and to take it before Albania becomes the next travel destination of choice.
David and Farzana Saker, UK,
July 2013

You will be recommended.
Hi Enea
I want to thank you, in the name of all of us, for helping us to have a great time in Albania. No dough you gave us good advices about the tour, and supply us with a good car and a good and very friendly and helpful driver. You will be recommended.
Thank you and a big Thanks to Saimir.
Best regards
Ilan and friends,
July 2013, Israel

Our trip to your country was really great!
Our trip to your country was really great! Eni did a fabulous job and was very attentive to our every need. She was always very concerned with our well being, seemed very knowledgeable about anything we asked her and was a lot of fun to be with. Keli was a very good driver, slowing down at all the bumps and making sure our bags were safe and secure. I got a chance to see my Dad’s pictures of the trip yesterday and they are so good. Really gives a person a sense of what your country is and all the beauty it has to offer. Thank you for all your hard work and all the planning that went into making our trip a success. All the hotels were very nice and the Albanian people are sincere and genuine people who could teach the rest of us a few things about life. I am finally switched back to my time zone and would have responded earlier but work has been very busy and am trying to get caught up. I would refer anyone who wants to visit your country to contact your company to make travel arrangements. You were very easy to work with and put together a nice trip for us. Thank you again for everything.
Sincerely, Kellee
Kellee and friends, USA
June 2013

We had a fantastic trip! We loved Albania– the food, the people, the natural landscape, the fascinatingly complex culture and history.
The tour itinerary was perfect. We had exactly the right amount of time in Shkodra, Theth, Valbona, Kruja, Tirana, and additionally we loved our boat tour on Koman. None of these places were too far from each other and so we never felt like we spent too much time just driving.
The trek from Theth to Valbona was beautiful. It was quite challenging, though, as there was lots of un-melted snow. We enjoyed it very much, but we were not quite prepared for the difficult conditions. I might suggest warning guests in advance if the trek will be similarly difficult in future.
The hotel in Shkodra was fantastic. We loved it! Beautiful space, rooms, and they served delicious food. The guesthouse in Theth was also amazing. In a superbly beautiful setting, with amazing traditional food and run by a very nice family. I cannot recommend it more highly. Our hotel in Valbona was good– there was a nice restaurant with outdoor seating and good food, and it was conveniently located just at the end of our hike. However, it wasn’t quite as stunning as the accommodation in Shkoder and Theth.
We loved Saimir. He was extremely outgoing, friendly, and eager to show us as much as possible. He was also a very good driver. He added very much to our tour of Albania. His English is limited yet, despite this, we had a wonderful time interacting with him, communicating in a combination of English and our broken Italian.
Molly and friend, USA.
June 2013

We enjoyed the tour with you very much.
You told us so much about your country and its history and cared about us in a perfect way.

I hope, in the meantime you could relax a little bit from the two crazy Germans.
Thank you very much.
Eugen and Friend, Germany.
June 2013

 

We want to thank you for the wonderful time we had on our Treasures of Albania trip.

From the beginning, Enea handled all our queries professionally and we had every confidence that we were booking with a reliable company that would provide a good overview of the country. That confidence was very well placed. From Enea, Eni and Keli we learnt much about the history of the country, through to the situation today, and the challenges which the population continues to face. And special thanks to Keli for his driving ability in often challenging conditions.
Albania has much outstanding beauty, and we particularly enjoyed driving through the mountains and the quite remote areas.
The accommodation was excellent, and we appreciated the opportunity to stay in some traditional dwellings. We also thoroughly enjoyed the food.
Joan and John, Australia
May 2013

We have come away from our holiday with a new perspective on Albania, its customs, its politics and its people and will follow its progress with interest.

 

I have nothing but praise for Enea of Albania TravelNet. From the outset he responded to all my email queries immediately with helpful suggestions on how to organise the tour. It was his suggestion that we start our tour in Macedonia because we were travelling to Albania from Bulgaria. He was happy to include any tour requests we had which included a night in Kosovo, a destination which is not usually part of his guiding route.
Our accommodation was excellent, usually small local hotels or guest houses. All of them were extremely clean and provided good breakfasts.
Every lunch time Enea would delight us with his choice of restaurant and local cuisine. My favourite was a seafood restaurant overlooking Corfu and the clean clear Ionion sea.(25km south of Saranda)
Enea’s knowledge of Albanian history, politics and religion was extensive and this led to many lively discussions while travelling.
Enea is also a very careful driver, a necessity on some of the roads!
Our tour with Albania TravelNet was 12 nights and included Macedonia, Montenegro and Kosovo.
Belinda and Kate NZ
May 2013

Try Albania Travelnet as soon as possible before the tourist groups realize what a gem Albania is for the offering.

We traveled with Albania Travelnet during May 2013. Enea Kumi was our guide/driver and knowledgeable expect on his country. We are still marveling at what we learned about Albania during our 7 day tour. Although we’ve traveled frequently, this is the first time we were the only folks with the tour guide. Makes us think we should try this more often but its hard to imagine anyone who would do a better job than Enea.
Jack and Anne, USA
May 2013

We had a wonderful time with Eni and Saimir throughout the trip.
Albania is a delightful country, and we enjoyed Kosova and Macedonia too. The tour was very far-reaching and we were really happy and surprised with how much was covered. Both Eni and Saimir were exemplary, and took extremely good care of us.  We have nothing but the highest praise for both of them, and very much enjoyed their friendly company as well as their solid experience and vast knowledge.

Kathryn and friends, UK
May 2013

We would like to thank Albania Travelnet for a well organized trip.
Enea was a great tour guide, safe driver and very knowledgeable companion during our five days tour in this off beaten path destination.
Our itinerary was planned with a highly professional approach and dedication. We have traveled from south to north with day visit to Montenegro, visited historical sight and archaeological l excavations, spent one night in a wonderful UNESCO town Berat and culturally fascinating city of Shkodra.
Enea was one of the best tour guides we ever had. His encyclopedic knowledge about history of Albania, explanation of current political events, religious and cultural development in his country were joy to listen to.
Although Albania is not a culinary destination he managed to take us to a local lake front restaurant serving delicious fresh fish and good local wine. He booked a tour of a local winery that was interesting and enjoyable. We brought 2 bottles of their special herb digestive Raki, back home.
Even the weather was not the best in April it was still interesting to see a country that had suffered so much and even after 20 years still experiencing the birthing pains of a new society.
Luba and Richard, USA
April 2013

I would highly recommend booking your tour of Albania with Enea before the crowds discover this wonderful unique place in the world.

From our very first e-mail with Albania TravelNet tours we were comfortable with Enea Kumi. He planned a tour of Albania/Macedonia for us for March, 2013; he was a personable and professioinal guide and driver and he made the tour fun and interesting. No matter where we went he knew someone and we were introduced and warmly received like family. Yes, Albanians really do like Americans! The hotels were good, all had WiFI, and the food was excellent and plentiful! I would highly recommend booking your tour of Albania with Enea before the crowds discover this wonderful unique place in the world.
Marylin Florida,USA
March 2013

Part of an article written by our guests Carol and Lynn Probst, published in International Travel News magazine, December 2012 issue.probst

 

When my husband, Lynn, agreed, I contacted Enea Kumi of Albania TravelNet to arrange a private tour. Knowing very little about the country, I gave him virtual carte blanche with the itinerary, though I emphasized that we loved ethnic food and were interested in natural beauty and historical attractions, notshopping opportunities.

Tirana International Airport was a pleasant surprise modern and clean and Enea was waiting for us at the gate. He spoke English fluently and the car, a Mercedes, was almost identical to the one we had at home. This had to be a good sign!…

During our tour we had but one request for dining: to enjoy traditional foods in restaurants where Albanians would eat. Under this stipulation, Enea took charge of the menus, and I can honestly say that we savoured every bite and usually were too stuffed for the delicious desserts a sad conundrum.

Our experience with Albania TravelNet was extremely positive. All e-mails were answered quickly, and the company has guides fluent in a number of languages. Our tour was seamlessly run by Enea, a very knowledgeable individual whom we came to regard as a friend. We found Albania to be a scenic respite from the crowds of Europe and a bargain, to boot!

Carol and Lynn Probst, USA

2012

Nothing was left to chance but the weather.

 

Enea Kumi at Albania TravelNet was our guide for an 8 day trip around Albania and 2 nights in Macedonia (at Lake Ohrid, I highly recommend). Right from the first e-mail contact, all was handled very professionally by Mr. Kumi.

Nothing was left to chance but the weather (which was hot, otherwise fine).

Mr. Kumi is a great guide, nice guy, always on time, well educated, knows the culture, speaks flawless English, and has a good sense of value for money. The hotels he picked were very good choices….

Ray and Mary USA

2012

Report on Albania published on International Travel News magazine, January 2012 issue. 

 

We traveled in Albania with Albania Travelnet in November ’11. They have some suggested programs or you can arrange an itinerary to fit your interests.

Albania is a country where you can get thousands of years of history plus beautiful mountain scenery and miles of seacoast. The distances are short, so you can see many things in a week or 10 days. We found the accommodations to be very good, and the food was wonderful.

Our program was excellent and we can highly recommend Enea Kumi as a guide and/or driver. Our tour of 10 days cost 845 euro (near $1,130) per person without the available meal plan.

Albanians are hospitality-minded people and it was a joy to be there and in such good hands with Albania Travelnet, which delivered personal service.

Ardy and John Becklin, MN, USA

2012

 

So many highlights and I wouldn’t have missed any of them.

 

Dear Enea
Now that I am home and thinking objectively about our visit to Albania, I need to tell you what an excellent guide you are. The tour was very intensive and not once did you seem tired or bored, despite doing all the driving as well as the talking (the leading and the explaining). We learnt so much and all the arrangements worked so smoothly. Without exception, all the hotels were good, some, of course, being more interesting than others – you will know which these were.

If I were planning the tour again, I would either make it a full two weeks or I would omit the section up to Lake Ohrid. This was a long drive there and back, for you especially. But I should hate to have missed Voskopoja and we could indeed have had longer there, perhaps spending a whole day to walk about and look at the other churches. And longer in Berat too, perhaps 2 nights even. I know you were diffident about commenting on my choice of itinerary from your proposed tours (and I understand your reason), but you have the driving and the local experience and can curb the greedy tourists’ ambitions!

Apart from the great cities of Gjirokaster and Berat, Voskopoja, and Ardenica and Byllis again, the highlights for me were the traditional places – such as the hotel and the little cafe in Gjirokaster, the hotel-restaurant in Berat, lunches by the sea at Dhermi and Ksamili and in the mountains of Llogara, and the visit to Qeparo and seeing Ali Pasha’s compound there, and your church in Dhermi. So many highlights and I wouldn’t have missed any of them.

With best wishes and see you again!

Moira and Hamish from UK

2012

 

I give Albania TravelNet my highest recommendation.

My husband, son (age 15), and I had an excellent experience with Albania TravelNet in late June/early July 2012.

Enea was a wonderful communicator and organizer before the tour. He suggested an itinerary which we amended slightly before it was finalized. It was helpful to have him provide a general framework for our trip but I also appreciated the fact that his initial suggestions were not set in stone.

Eni was a terrific guide, who spoke perfect English (she’d lived briefly in America and plays Ultimate Frisbee with Americans inTirana!). Saimir was an excellent driver (no small feat in Albania).

The three of us traveled in an air-conditioned van with Eni as our translator/guide and Saimir behind the wheel. We’ve never enjoyed the luxury of this sort of private tour before, but the Albania TravelNet prices made it very affordable.

We were very impressed by the quality and variety of the hotels that Enea found for us and for the delightful restaurants that Eni recommended. There wasn’t a single snafu in our entire trip, which I don’t think I can say about any other travel experience.

The hotels were included in the price, but we preferred to eat our meals on a pay-as-you-go basis (besides breakfast, which was included at every hotel). This system worked out great because, that way, we ate whenever we got hungry and, as noted above, enjoyed some wonderful off-the-beaten track restaurants, cafes, etc., due to Eni’s recommendations.

Eni and Saimir made sure that all of our needs were met, but they were also very flexible when we wanted to make changes to the day’s agenda. We enjoyed their company very much, but we also had plenty of time to explore on our own, when we so chose.

… it was an extraordinary trip. I highly recommend Albania as a travel destination for anyone who wants to visit an intriguing country with beautiful scenery and uncrowded historic sites. And I give Albania TravelNet my highest recommendation as well.

Loretta USA, 2012

 

We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed beautiful Albania very much.

Eni and Saimir were both very good. Eni not only knows everything about Albania she’s able to put it into context. She’s very good at

showing you the really interesting things that you might miss. And it’s fantastic having someone to translate so you can communicate

much more easily with local people.

Saimir was a great driver even in very difficult circumstances, flooding and rain.  He’s also an extremely nice guy and also knows everything about Albania.

They were very good at making you feel relaxed and it was like going on holiday with friends rather than guides.

I think the itinerary was good although we were very disappointed at not being able to go on the ferry. Having been there I can see the difficulty in making it part of the trip.

Hopefully the people who run the ferry will think about changing the timetable to cope with tourists at some point. But not too soon – part of the joy in being there is that

there aren’t too many visitors – yet.

The accommodation was good – good choices. Valbona and Theth were both really nice places to be and the hotels further south were in good locations and the staff were really friendly especially in the Nais Beach Hotel in Durres.

So I have only good things to say. It was a wonderful trip and we will certainly be back to visit Albania again.

Patrice UK, 2011

 

We had a great experience with Albania TravelNet

 

We had a great experience with Albania TravelNet. Enea was an excellent tour guide and driver, in our case. He was very intuitive in anticipating our needs and interests and very knowledgeable about all things Albanian. He also loves food and we had some very memorable meals with him. He is very professional and attended to all the details. We have no reservations about recommending Albania TravelNet for a tour of this fascinating country. Unfortunately our tour was cut short by a family emergency and Enea was extremely helpful in getting us back to Canada as quickly as possible and was very reasonable about expenses. The hotels he chose were all good and his restaurant recommendations were wonderful. His English is excellent

Susan and Steven, Canada
Everything was perfect!!! We really enjoyed Albania and our guide!!
We will be again in Albania and would like to have the same tour. Thanks a lot for arranging everything for us and see you again!
Kind regards,
Marina,
Tour director, Russia

2011

Travelling with you was the best experiencefoto-private-tours-1024x891

We’re back in Switzerland and life has already started getting back to normal. We hope that you enjoy sunny days in beautiful country and that your family is well. Once again, thank you very much for everything you did for us, travelling with you was the best experience. You really made us understand some things about Albania that otherwise would have been lost on us. Your vast knowledge, your experience, professionalism, reliability and your great kindness made our trip unique. Thanks also for looking after us during the week we spent in the South.
Take care, all the very best and lots of love from Switzerland
Dominique & Pascale, Switzerland

2011

There is not enough I can say about Enea’s abilities

 

As a Travel Director for a major American tour company, I have travelled to Albania on a number of occasions with the good luck of having been assigned Enea as my national guide on my first and subsequent trips.

There is not enough I can say about Enea’s abilities – in the knowledge of his country and customs, his sense of humor, his good manners in handling clients of all ages, his command of the English language (not forgetting his fluency in other languages). Most importantly, anyone seeing Albania through his eyes comes away with an understanding and appreciation of his country that only a guide of his caliber could impart.

Over many visits, Albania has quickly become one of my favorite countries to visit and I credit this feeling with my association with Enea who has become a wonderful friend and colleague and has given me the honor of allowing me to be his young son’s, Tomas, American uncle!

Anyone who has the good fortune of being guided by Enea through Albania will have an experience never to be forgotten.
Hal Rice
Travel Director
LAKANI WORLD TOURS, USAÂ

2010